Stocks - Who is UP and Who is DOWN

by Brandon H (Maine Cobra Kai)

Well this is my first time trying this out so be easy on me guys. These guys on my list are people I would trade for or trade away before it is too late.

On The Rise

Mike Minor - He now owns a 3.21 ERA and 26/12 K/BB ratio over 33 2/3 innings over his first five starts. He has been very good this year and while some people are still luke warm on him, now is the time to grab him. I also see him being moved before the trade deadline which will only increase his stock by joining a better team.

Hunter Dozier - He has been killing the ball this year. He is 27 years old and is the perfect age where you see most hitters turn the corner and start to make a lot of good contact. He is hitting .324 avg. 7 HR. 12 Runs and 12 RBI. The only problem is that he plays on a K.C. team that will not put many runners on base for him. I also see him as trade bait before the deadline.

Ron Guzman - He will be coming off the IL real soon and if he is on the WW, now is the time to pick him up. He is young (24) and already has 2 HR in 26 AB. He is carrying a .231 average along with 10K but I see him improving those numbers. He has 1B all to himself pushing Gallo to the OF. He will also DH on his days off.

Raimel Tapia - He is a guy that makes great contact and now is showing some pop in his swing. He can also steal some bases and has room now that Ian Desmond is on the IL. If he continues to do well he will be a regular starter in COORS FIELD.

Guys I Would Move Who Still Hold Value

Freddy Galvis - He is hitting over .300 with 5 HR along with 12 R and 12 RBI. I just see him getting pushed aside with all these young guns in the minors that are ready to step up. You can great value for him now while he plays regular but by the time midsummer hits he will be a bench guy or maybe a trade bait guy. His problem is that there is a lot of good SS and most teams don’t need that position.

Wade Miley - He has been doing really well on a great team. He has an ERA of 3.58 and 18K in 27.2 innings to go along with a 1.08 WHIP. These are some great numbers for Miley. His stock is really high right now but I can see him falling to an average to below average pitcher.

Forrest Whitley - I know you may think I’m crazy here but just listen. His stock is very high right now. Most people consider him the best pitcher prospect right now on a great team. He has had a few bad games in the past but has put up great K numbers. I see him as a little above average pitcher. You can get so much value for him right now because of the mystery of what he can do in the MLB. I look at him and see a guy that will give up a lot of runs and get a lot of K’s. To me he is a poor man’s Vince Velasquez.

Nick Pivetta - It might be too late to get any real value for him now that he was sent down. I was SHOCKED at how high he was going in the drafts this year. I have had him on my team before and always looked at him as an average starter. He just gives up too many hits and HR. If you can move him for say a prospect and average starter I would do it.


Remember guys, this is only some of my secrets not all of them. I will NEVER talk about RP because they change so much and the majority of the teams have several guys. I give little to no value on RP. I think most of you know this when you have tried to trade with me.

- Brandon Hagopian (Cobra Kai) NEVER DIE!!!!!!